2024 Met Gala reveals theme and co-chairs Zendaya, Jennifer Lopez, Bad Bunny and Chris Hemsworth

Zendaya arrives for the ‘Euphoria’ FYC Party on April 20^ 2022 in Los Angeles^ CA

The co-chairs for the 2024 Met Gala were announced with a reveal on social media: “Just in: This year, #BadBunny, @ChrisHemsworth, @jlo, @Zendaya, and Anna Wintour will serve as this year’s official #MetGala co-chairs! Tied to the aforementioned exhibition, the dress code is “The Garden of Time.” http://vogue.cm/JeWLw0Z”.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art revealed that Zendaya, Jennifer Lopez, Bad Bunny and Chris Hemsworth will serve as the Costume Institute Benefit event’s co-chairs. Honorary chairs are Loewe creative director Jonathan Anderson and TikTok CEO Shou Zi Chew. The announcement on Vogue’s social channels came along with a comical video of text messages Wintour sent to the co-chairs, asking if they’re free on May 6.

The stars and Wintour will welcome guests to the museum for an exhibition entitled “Sleeping Beauties: Reawakening Fashion.”  Vogue described this year’s “Garden of Time” theme as one that has “nothing to do with the Brothers Grimm or Disney, but is rather a celebration of clothing and fashion so fragile that it can’t ever be worn again — and are therefore sleeping beauties in the scrupulously maintained archives of The Costume Institute … we can expect to see a range of fashion on display, dating back as far as a 17th-century Elizabethan-era English bodice, that embodies the beauty of the natural world — its fragility and its inevitable decay. More modern, less delicate pieces imbued with the same spirit as the spotlit fashions will be showcased alongside them, and broken up into three sub-themes: Land, Sea and Sky.”  Vogue also notes that the dress code was inspired by a short story of the same name written by JG Ballard in 1962. (

Hemsworth will attend his first Met as a co-host, with Bad Bunny marking his third year at the Met. Zendaya has attended the Met five times, and Lopez is a 13-time attendee. TikTok is a sponsor of this year’s gala, which will take place on May 6.

Editorial credit: DFree / Shutterstock.com